Leanne Sansbury, Jordan Brew and Samantha Self each won awards and prizes at this year’s annual Norman Sayle Prize for Art competition on June 15. The event is run by the Archibald Knox Society and sponsored by Isle of Man Post Office.

Leanne Sansbury, secured the award ‘First Year National Diploma – overall body of work’, Jordan Brew, was awarded the ‘Norman Sayle prize for innovative work’ and Samantha Self won the ‘Overall Knox/Sayle prize for Manx inspired artwork’. To add to this Will Morris was given a highly commended for his work. The students are all studying full time art, design and media further education courses at the University College Isle of Man.

Commenting on her award Leanne said:

‘I am actually quite surprised at winning. I didn’t know I was going to win.’

Samantha said:

‘I am completely overwhelmed. I really wasn’t expecting it at all.’

Jordan Brew also commented:

‘I’m shocked really. I wasn’t expecting to win anything.’

The work of all three artists was moderated by a panel of artistic judges: Myra Gilbert, Carola Rush and Stacey Smith – Senior Graphic & Web Designer at Isle of Man Advertising who represented Isle of Man Post Office and is responsible for designing a number of the Post Office’s stamp collections.

Sarah Read, Isle of Man Post Office PR & Communications Manager, and Maxine Cannon, Isle of Man Stamps & Coins General Manager, presented the awards and prizes to the three outstanding students and congratulated Will Morris who was highly commended.

Commenting on the awards Maxine Cannon said:

‘Isle of Man Post Office is delighted to continue to sponsor the awards and support the developing talent of the Isle of Man’s young artists. This year’s three winners have demonstrated a continuation of the Island’s great artistic tradition.’

Isle of Man Post Office Sponsorship Committee aims to support a variety of local initiatives throughout the year and is always keen to hear from individuals and organisations looking for support which it may be able to help.

Photo – (Left to Right) Will Morris (highly commended), Stacey Smith, Leanne Sanbury, Myra Gilbert, Samantha Self, Carola Rush and Jordan Brew.

Issued by the Isle of Man Post Office

Three outstanding artists uncovered at this year’s prestigious Art Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.